Speed Decathlon and Combined Events


Welcome to Down Grange, Basingstoke where this year we are holding our 4th speed decathlon, and after last year’s success, speed heptathlon and team decathlon, on Saturday 23rd September.

It will incorporate a one hour decathlon, speed heptathlon  for ladies, and a team decathlon

In all the competitions, there will be a maximum of six attempts each in the high jump and pole vault, as there are time restrictions.

Entries Now Closed

A bit about the Team decathlon

This was an enjoyable trial format last year, but we would like to push it this year.

Held over one hour, The aim is for a team of two ,three or four athletes to compete in the 10 decathlon events between them. For example athlete 1 does 3 events, athlete 2 does 2 events, athlete 3 does 2 events and athlete 4 does 3 events.

Each event must be done in the correct order, and the next competitor in the team cannot start until each event has finished. You have up to 60 minutes to get to the start of the 1500m.

Age and sex graded points apply, so choosing your team mates carefully comes into play, as a w40 lady running 13 seconds for 100 m will score more points than a senior man running 12 seconds.

This brings into combined events a lot more athletes than usual, as a sprinter or thrower can compete with a jumper or mid distance runner.

The challenge is to create a team that scores the most points. You don’t all have to be from the same club to compete in the team decathlon.

Speed events(60min decathlon, 42 min speed heptathlon.)

Please bear in mind the main rules for this competition

You must progress to each event together in your group, which will be either two or three athletes.

It is not permissible if you have finished your jumps/throws, to go to the next event without your group members and officials

You must start the last event within one hour of the start gun for the first event for 60 min decathlon,  and 42 min for heptathlon.

Each group will have an official keeping an eye on the time, but it is each athlete’s responsibility to make it to the 1500m in time. (Talking to your group members could be important here, as some might want rest time after the 400m, some might want more time for high jump for example)

Only a maximum of 6 attempts in both the high jump and pole vault are allowed, also in the team decathlon. (Bear in mind the fatigue factor to ensure you score points)

There is one false start  per race allowed. 

There will be  many prizes on offer, from spot prizes, to the event goodie bag for each competitor and of course the medals and trophies.

In addition to the usual first, second and third medals in each competition category, there is a senior men’s trophy, plus an overall age graded trophy in which every competitor has the chance to be involved in winning


There will be refreshments available throughout the day, with hot and cold food, snacks, and drinks at reasonable prizes.

We regret that for health and safety reasons we cannot allow any competitors in the infield prior to their competition, unless to drop poles/javelins off at the appropriate areas.

There will be tape measures at the pole vault and long jump areas to easily mark your run ups before competing in those events. These will be stuck or stapled down all day .

 For the speed events, if time permits you could have practice attempts, for the team decathlon there will be practice time.

We have a couple of poles for those of you who do not have your own.

Above all, enjoy the day!

Many thanks

All at BMHAC

For all queries and information contact the meeting organiser at speeddecathlon@sky.co

Geoff Butler Co-Meeting organiser Speed decathlon B.M.H.A.C

Event competitors

1. Janet Dickinson –  decathlon w50 Bournemouth A.C
2. Joe Flitcroft – decathlon SM  BMHAC
3. Martijn Flipson – decathlon u23 Netherlands
4. Bram Van Hastenberg – decathlon u20 Netherlands
5. Joy Wright – heptathlon w40 Bournemouth A.C
6. Chris Ness – decathlon m45 Walton A.C
7. Geoff Butler – decathlon m 45 BMHAC
8. Primrose Ulegard – heptathlon w40 Vasteras Friidrotts Klub in Sweden
9. Matt Bowyer -decathlon m50 BMHAC
10. Jon Ladley – decathlon m35 Walton A.C
11. Matthew Reece – decathlon m45  Oxford City
12. Diego Lassini – decathlon u23 Bedford and County A.C
13. Jemma Eastwood- decathlon w35 Bedford and County A.C
14. Dave Awde – decathlon SM Andover A.C
15. Clare Maurer -heptathlon SW Woking A.C
16. Sam Morrison – heptathlon SW Woking A.C
17. Linda Van der Wel – decathlon w45 BMHAC
18. James Danobrega – decathlon m40 Bedford and County A.C
19. Andy Smerdon – decathlon m55 Fleet and Crookham A.C
20. Ben Hazell – decathlon SM BMHAC
21. John Dickinson – decathlon SM BMHAC
22. Andrew England – decathlon m45 BMHAC
23. Becky Mulley – decathlon w35 Southampton A.C
24. Carl McMullen -decathlon m35 Cannock and Stafford A.C
25. Adam Fidgett – decathlon m35 Nene Valley Harriers
26. Sean Reidy – decathlon
 m35 Nene Valley Harriers

Team decathlon

Team Phipps
Dave Awde   Clare Maurer   Sam Morrison

Flying Penguins
Linda Van der Wel   Susanne Jacob-Williams

Super Heroes in training
Joe Flitcroft   Gabriella Holt   Felix Vaughn


Pod 1  team decathlon 09.30

Flying penguins
Team Phipps
Super heroes in training

Pod 2 decathlon  10.10

Geoff Butler m45  1.60
Chris Ness.  M45.  1.20
Matt Bowyer.  M 50  1.50
Andy Smerdon M55  1.60

Pod 3 decathlon. 10.50    

Andrew England  m45.  2.30
Jemma Eastwood w35. 2.60
James Danobrega. M40. 2.80

Pod 4 decathlon 11.35    

Jon Ladley  m35. 2.00
Matthew Reece m45. 2.00
Joe Flitcroft. Sm. 1.50

Pod 5. Heptathlon  12.20

Sam Morrison SW
Clare Maurer SW

Pod 6 heptathlon.  12.50

Joy Wright w40
Primrose Ulegard w40
13.35 Lunch break with prizegiving for team decathlon and heptathlon

Pod 7 decathlon  14.00

Janet  Dickinson w50 1.50
Linda Van der Wel w45 1.40
Becky Mulley w35  1.60

Pod 8 decathlon  14.40

Martijn Flipson u23. 2.30
Bram van Hastenberg u20. 2.40
Diego Lassini u23  3.60

Pod 9 decathlon 15.20

Adam Fidgett. Sm. 2.60
Sean Reidy. Sm. 2.40
Carl McMullen. M35 2.00

Pod 10 decathlon 16.05

Ben Hazell. Sm. 3.60
John Dickinson.  Sm 3.40
Dave Awde. Sm 3.30
17.15   prizegiving for decathlon